Sonnet 2

Standard
Terre ouvre moy ton sein, et me laisse reprendre
Mon thresor, que la Parque a caché dessous toy :
Ou bien si tu ne peux, ô terre cache moy
Sous mesme sepulture avec sa belle cendre.
 
Le traict qui la tua, devoit faire descendre
Mon corps aupres du sien pour finir mon esmoy :
Aussi bien, veu le mal qu’en sa mort je reçoy,
Je ne sçaurois plus vivre, et me fasche d’attendre.
 
Quand ses yeux m’esclairoient, et qu’en terre j’avois
Le bon-heur de les voir, à l’heure je vivois,
Ayant de leurs rayons mon ame gouvernee.
 
Maintenant je suis mort : la Mort qui s’en-alla
Loger dedans ses yeux, en partant m’appella,
Et me fit de son soir accomplir ma journée.
 
 
 
                                                                                            Earth, open your breast for me, and let me take back
                                                                                            My treasure, which Fate has hidden beneath you;
                                                                                            Or if you cannot, then Earth hide me
                                                                                            Beneath the same tomb with her fair ashes.
 
                                                                                            The stroke which killed her ought to have brought down
                                                                                            My body alongside hers, to end my pain:
                                                                                            As well it might since, given the hurt I receive from her death,
                                                                                            I could not live longer, and am impatient with waiting.
 
                                                                                            When her eyes shone on me, and on earth I had
                                                                                            The happiness of seeing them, at that time I lived,
                                                                                            My soul governed by their rays.
 
                                                                                            Now I am dead:  Death which went
                                                                                            To live in her eyes, called me as it left
                                                                                            And made me finish my day in its night.
 
 
Blanchemain retains the same text, but footnotes the altered last line of the 1578 edition:  “Et me feit de ses pieds accomplir ma journée” (‘And made me complete my day’s journey in its footsteps‘).
 
 
 
 
About fattoxxon

Who am I? Lover of all sorts of music - classical, medieval, world (anything from Africa), world-classical (Uzbek & Iraqi magam for instance), and virtually anything that won't be on the music charts... Lover of Ronsard's poetry (obviously) and of sonnets in general. Reader of English, French, Latin & other literature. And who is Fattoxxon? An allusion to an Uzbek singer - pronounce it Patahan, with a very plosive 'P' and a throaty 'h', as in 'khan')

Leave a Reply

