Ode à Marguerite

Standard

This is no.2 in Blanchemain’s set of the “Odes retranchées”; it heads up Marty-Laveaux’s set as no.1.

Marguerite is both a lady’s name and the flower we know as daisy. So I have used Daisy as the name in the translation.

En mon coeur n’est ecrite
La rose ny autre fleur ;
C’est toy, blanche Marguerite,
Par qui j’ay cette couleur.
 
N’es-tu celle dont les yeux
    Ont surpris
Par un regard gracieux
    Mes espris ?
Puis que ta sœur de haut pris,
Ta sœur, pucelle d’elite,
N’est cause de ma douleur,
C’est donc par toy, Marguerite,
Que j’ay pris ceste couleur.
 
Ma couleur palle nasquit,
    Quand mon cœur
Pour maistresse te requit :
    Mais rigueur
D’une amoureuse langueur
Soudain paya mon merite,
Me donnant ceste paleur
Pour t’aimer trop, Marguerite,
Et ta vermeille couleur.
 
Quel charme pourroit casser
    Mon ennuy
Et ma couleur effacer
    Avec luy ?
De l’amour que tant je suy
La jouissance subite
Seule osteroit le malheur
Que me donna Marguerite,
Par qui j’ay cette couleur.
In my heart is engraved
No rose, nor other flower ;
You, pale Daisy, are the one
By whom I’ve got this colour.
 
Aren’t you she whose eyes
    Surprised
With a gracious glance
    My heart?
For your sister, highly-prized,
Your sister, chosen maid,
Is not the cause of my sadness,
It’s because of you, Daisy,
That I acquired this colour.
 
My pale colour began from
    When my heart
Begged you as mistress;
    But severity
With a lover’s carelessness
Suddenly gave me my reward,
Giving me this pallor
From loving you too much, Daisy,
And your rosy colour.
 
What charm could destroy
     My pain
And wipe away my colour
     With it?
The sudden joy
Of the love which I pursue so hard
Alone can remove the misfortune
Which Daisy gives me,
By whom I’ve got this colour.
 
 
Marty-Laveaux’s version contains a number of differences. As there are minor changes throughout, it’s perhaps easiest to print the whole poem again:
 
En mon coeur n’est point escrite
La rose, ny autre fleur,
C’est toy, belle Marguerite,
Par qui j’ay cette couleur.
 
N’es-tu celle dont les yeux
    Ont surpris
Par un regard gracieux
    Mes espris ?
Puis que ta sœur de haut pris
Ta sœur pucelle d’elite
N’est cause de ma douleur,
C’est donc pour toy, Marguerite,
Que je pris ceste couleur.
 
Un soir ma fiévre nasquit,
    Quand mon cœur
Pour Maistresse te requit :
    Mais rigueur
D’une amoureuse langueur
Soudain paya mon merite,
Me donnant ceste paleur
Pour t’aimer trop, Marguerite,
Et ta vermeille couleur.
 
Hé ! quel charme pourroit bien
    Consumer
Le souci qui s’est fait mien
    Pour aimer ?
De mon tourment si amer
La jouïssance subite
Seule osteroit le malheur
Que me donna Marguerite
Par qui j’ay cette couleur.
In my heart is nowhere engraved
The rose, nor other flower ;
You, pale Daisy, are the one
By whom I’ve got this colour.
 
Aren’t you she whose eyes
Surprised
With a gracious glance
My heart?
For your sister, highly-prized,
Your sister, chosen maid,
Is not the cause of my sadness,
It’s for you, Daisy,
That I acquire this colour.
 
One eve my fever began
When my heart
Begged you as mistress;
But severity
With a lover’s carelessness
Suddenly gave me my reward,
Giving me this paleness
From loving you too much, Daisy,
And your rosy colour.
 
Ah, what charm could indeed
Consume
The worry which has become mine
Over love?
From my bitter torment
Sudden joy
Alone can remove the misfortune
Which Daisy gives me,
By whom I’ve got this colour.
 
 
 
 
 
 
About fattoxxon

Who am I? Lover of all sorts of music - classical, medieval, world (anything from Africa), world-classical (Uzbek & Iraqi magam for instance), and virtually anything that won't be on the music charts... Lover of Ronsard's poetry (obviously) and of sonnets in general. Reader of English, French, Latin & other literature. And who is Fattoxxon? An allusion to an Uzbek singer - pronounce it Patahan, with a very plosive 'P' and a throaty 'h', as in 'khan')

Leave a Reply

