Chanson (Amours retranch. 11a)

Standard
Je te hay bien (croy moy) Maistresse,
Je te hay bien, je le confesse,
Et te devrois encor plus fort
Hayr que je ne fais la mort.
 
Toutesfois il faut que je t’ayme
Plus que ma vie et que moy mesme,
Car plus ta fiere cruauté
Me rejette, plus ta beauté
(Pour mourir et vivre avec elle)
A ton service me rappelle.
 
 
 
                                                                            I truly hate you (believe me), Mistress.
                                                                            I truly hate you, this I confess.
                                                                            And I ought to hate you much, much more
                                                                            Than I do death [and his dark door].
 
                                                                            And yet I have to love you too
                                                                            More than life or self [I do]
                                                                            As more your arrogant cruelty
                                                                            Rejects me, more your [great] beauty
                                                                            (That I might die and live with it)
                                                                            Calls, [calls] me back to wait on it.

 

I’ve warned you before I’m no poet. But just this once I thought Ronsard’s poem HAD to be put into couplets – doggerel, maybe, but couplets anyway.  So the bits in blue above are where I’ve added a little to get the lines & rhymes.
 
I promise not to do it again – or at least not often 🙂

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
About fattoxxon

Who am I? Lover of all sorts of music - classical, medieval, world (anything from Africa), world-classical (Uzbek & Iraqi magam for instance), and virtually anything that won't be on the music charts... Lover of Ronsard's poetry (obviously) and of sonnets in general. Reader of English, French, Latin & other literature. And who is Fattoxxon? An allusion to an Uzbek singer - pronounce it Patahan, with a very plosive 'P' and a throaty 'h', as in 'khan')

Leave a Reply

