Amours retranch. 43

Standard
Je veux lire en trois jours l’Iliade d’Homere,
Et pour-ce, Corydon, ferme bien l’huis sur moy :
Si rien me vient troubler, je t’asseure ma foy
Tu sentiras combien pesante est ma colere.
 
Je ne veux seulement que nostre chambriere
Vienne faire mon lit, ton compagnon, ny toy,
Je veux trois jours entiers demeurer à requoy,
Pour follastrer apres une sepmaine entiere.
 
Mais si quelqu’un venoit de la part de Cassandre,
Ouvre-luy tost la porte, et ne le fais attendre,
Soudain entre en ma chambre, et me vien accoustrer.
 
Je veux tant seulement à luy seul me monstrer :
Au reste, si un Dieu vouloit pour moy descendre
Du Ciel, ferme la porte, et ne le laisse entrer.
 
 
 
 
                                                                            I want to read Homer’s Iliad in three days :
                                                                            So, Corydon, close tight the door upon me.
                                                                            If anything comes to trouble me, I give you my word
                                                                            You will feel how heavy my anger is.
 
                                                                            I do not just wish our chambermaid won’t
                                                                            Come and make my bed, nor your fellows, nor you :
                                                                            I want to stay in peace for three whole days,
                                                                            To have some fun after this last week.
 
                                                                            But if someone should come from Cassandre,
                                                                            Quickly open the door to him, don’t make him wait !
                                                                            Rush into my room, come and get me dressed :
 
                                                                            To him alone am I willing to show myself.
                                                                            For the rest, if a god chose to come down to me
                                                                            From heaven, shut the door and don’t let him in !
 
 
Lovely. Ronsard the litterateur, keen to read his Homer; but also Ronsard the tongue-in-cheek love-poet – Cassandre, yes, a mere god, no …   Yet another poem where I wonder, why did he withdraw it?! More importantly, yet another poem which reminds us that the withdrawn poems are as well-worth reading as the sets Ronsard selected in the various complete editions.
 
 
 
 
 
About fattoxxon

Who am I? Lover of all sorts of music - classical, medieval, world (anything from Africa), world-classical (Uzbek & Iraqi magam for instance), and virtually anything that won't be on the music charts... Lover of Ronsard's poetry (obviously) and of sonnets in general. Reader of English, French, Latin & other literature. And who is Fattoxxon? An allusion to an Uzbek singer - pronounce it Patahan, with a very plosive 'P' and a throaty 'h', as in 'khan')

Leave a Reply

